Opening Honour Lecture
Subra Suresh US 

Professor Subra Suresh is the Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering (on leave) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Since October 2010, he has been serving as the 13th director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) for a six-year term. Prior to assuming this position, Professor Suresh was MIT’s dean of engineering. As a mechanical engineer who later became interested in materials science and biology, Suresh has done pioneering work in the biomechanics of blood cells under the influence of diseases such as malaria. From 2000 to 2006, Suresh served as the head of the MIT Department of Materials Science and Engineering. He joined MIT in 1993 as the R.P. Simmons Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and held joint faculty appointments in the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Biological Engineering, as well as the Division of Health Sciences and Technology. Suresh holds a bachelor’s degree from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, a master’s degree from Iowa State University, and earned his ScD from MIT in 1981.

President’s Honour Lecture
  Alberto Carpinteri IT 

Professor Alberto Carpinteri is the President of the National Research Institute of Metrology in Italy, INRIM (2011-2015). He is also the Chair of Structural Mechanics at the Politecnico di Torino (Italy), and the Director of the Laboratory of Fracture Mechanics, since 1986. He has held different responsibilities during this period, among which: Head of the Department of Structural Engineering (1989-1995), and Founding Member and Director of the Post-graduate School in Structural Engineering (1990-). He has been a Visiting Scientist at Lehigh University, Pennsylvania, USA (1982-1983), and a Fellow of different Academies and Institutions, among which: European Academy of Sciences (2009-), International Academy of Engineering (2010-), Turin Academy of Sciences (2005-), American Society of Civil Engineers (1996-). Prof. Carpinteri is President of the International Congress on Fracture, ICF (2009-2013), and has been President of the European Structural Integrity Society, ESIS (2002-2006), the International Association of Fracture Mechanics for Concrete and Concrete Structures, lA-FraMCoS (2004-2007), the Italian Group of Fracture, IGF (1998-2005). He is a Member of the Congress Committee of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, IUTAM (2004-2012), a member of the editorial board of thirteen international journals, the editor-in-chief of the journal “Meccanica”, and the author of over 700 publications, of which more than 300 are papers in refereed international journals and 42 are books. Prof. Carpinteri received numerous honours and awards: the Robert L’Hermite Medal from RILEM (1982), the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers Medal (1993), the Honorary Professorship from the Nanjing Architectural and Civil Engineering Institute, China (1996), and from the Albert Schweitzer University, Geneva, Switzerland (2000), the Wessex Institute of Technology Eminent Scientist Medal, UK (2000), the Griffith Medal from ESIS (2008), the inclusion in the “Top 100 Scientists” list of the International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, UK (2009), the Honorary Fellowship Award from ICF (2009), and the Swedlow Memorial Lecture Award from ASTM (2011).

Closing Honour Lecture
  Yiu-Wing Mai RU 

Professor Yiu-Wing Mai obtained his undergraduate education and postgraduate research training in mechanical engineering at the University of Hong Kong, China. He previously worked in the US (University of Michigan and NIST), the UK (Imperial College) and Hong Kong (HKUST, CityU, HKU and PolyU). He holds a University Chair in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Sydney. Prof Mai’s major current research interest is on polymer nanocomposites. His published work has contributed to the development of asbestos-free fibre cements, testing protocols for fracture toughness of polymer films and improved composites manufacturing processes with global impact. Professor Mai is Fellow of the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering.